melodic tessitura

20110307-MondayatHome-29-7.jpg

"Who looks outside, dreams; who looks inside, awakens" Carl Jung

I’ve been stretching my theme in various directions the last few days at my gorgeously tuned piano, mixing it up with some clarinet, walking thinking of melodies, some practice on oboe trying to learn a new instrument and generally enjoying music now that my musical imagination is in full free flow again.

I feel as long as I give it time daily, things will stay flowing from now on in the process.

I’ve been paying more and more attention to what could be referred to as the tessitura of the thematic line. I’ve been aware of having the luxury of pushing the line further than the typical orchestral range as it is the solo instrument and should have the freedom to come and go as it pleases.

The question I’ve been facing is how far the theme in its base, raw, form should travel on its own before it ever gets developed. I think I am in the mood for an analysis session in the morning of a few concertos to get some sort of consensus from the Masters 😉

Lets see what they have to say about it in the morning…

Finally bedtime. Here’s a video I shot earlier today before a whole new day of exploration went into the piece…..

This entry was posted in Ciaran's Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

